About Us

About Treaty 8

On June 21, 1899, the eighth treaty between the Indians of North America and the Queen of England was signed. The signatories of Treaty 8 agreed to its terms for reasons of peace and friendship - ensuring what they thought would be a partnership. Treaty 8 was the most comprehensive treaty, encompassing a land mass of approximately 840,000 kilometers, and is home to 39 First Nation communities. Treaty territory covers the areas of Northern Alberta, Northwestern Saskatchewan, Northeastern British Columbia, and the Southwest portion of the Northwest Territories.

Articles of Treaty 8

Learn the history and details of the setting of Treaty #8 and how the treaty and scrip decisions made in 1899 and thereafter have affected life for the peoples of Treaty 8.

Learn More

Upcoming Events

View All
Assembly of Treaty Chiefs

Starts: Sep 26, 2012 Ends: Sep 28, 2012

See More Details Here