About the Health Department

The Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta Health Department continues to serve as a connection with the First Nations largely through the Health Commission. The Health Commission is comprised of health directors from each Tribal Council, Bigstone Cree Nation, and Fort McKay First Nation who in turn take direction from their First Nation Communities. Recommendations provided by the Health Commission are then brought to the Treaty 8 Executive Board of Chiefs for consideration. The Health Commission meets at least 4 times per year and maintains steady contact between meetings.

The Health Department works with the Health Commission and Executive Board of Chiefs to ensure Treaty 8 communities in Alberta are receiving health services and benefits afforded to them through treaty rights and as Albertans. The Health Commission and Executive Board of Chiefs provide advice and direction to the health department to ensure positive health outcomes for Treaty 8 members.

Health funding also ensures that programs exist within the Treaty 8 office to ensure our treaty right to health is being respected and upheld. Current programs within the Treaty 8 Health Department include the NIHB Navigator, Health Policy Analyst, and Co-Management Liaison.

Treaty 8 Board of Health Chiefs(Updated March 2021)

Chief James Ahnassay Dene Tha' First Nation

Chief Jim Badger Sucker Creek First Nation

Chief Clyde GoodswimmerSturgeon Lake Cree Nation

Proxy Chief Ray PowderFort McKay First Nation

Chief Ivan Sawan Loon River First Nation

Chief Silas Yellowknee Bigstone Cree Nation


Chief Gerald CheezieSmith's Landing First Nation

Health Commission Health Directors/Members (Updated March 2021)

Roxanne Stuckless Athabasca Tribal Council

Gloria Fraser Bigstone Cree Nation

Denise Wilkinson Fort McKay First Nation

Sandra LamoucheKee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council

Marcella Schnurr Lesser Slave Lake Indian Regional Council

Caroline Adam North Peace Tribal Council

Patsy Campbell Western Cree Tribal Council


Health Commission Elders (Updated March 2021)

Elder Violet Clarke Athabasca Tribal Council

Elder Mike Beaver Bigstone Cree Nation

Elder Pat Gray Kee Tas Kee Now Tribal Council

Elder Doris Courtoreille Lesser Slave Lake Indian Regional Council

VacantNorthpeace Tribal Council

Vacant Western Cree Tribal Council