See All Events...

  See All Events...


Recent Events

Treaty 8 and APEGGA work to enhance First Nation education

On January 26, 2012, Grand Chief Richard Kappo signed an agreement with the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta aimed at increasing First Nation participation in these professional careers.  First Nations are currently under represented amongst Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists, this agreement will allow APEGGA to work collaboratively with Treaty No. 8 (Alberta) to encourage this as a potential career choice for First Nation's youth.

Read full story

On June 21, 1899, the eighth treaty between the Indians of North America and the Queen of England was signed. The signatories of Treaty 8 agreed to its terms for reasons of peace and friendship - ensuring what they thought would be a partnership. Treaty 8 was the most comprehensive treaty, encompassing a land mass of approximately 840,000 kilometers, and is home to 39 First Nation communities. Treaty territory covers the areas of Northern Alberta, Northwestern Saskatchewan, Northeastern British Columbia, and the Southwest portion of the Northwest Territories.

Contact Us

c/o Santa Fe Plaza
18178 - 102 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta
T5S 1S7

Tel: (780) 444-9366
Fax: (780) 484-1465
 Toll free: 1-888-treaty8