See All Events...

  See All Events...


Click here for a larger image

Languages of Alberta (Click to Enlarge)

This map shows the major language groupings indigenous to what is today the province of Alberta. Each community’s language is indicated by a coloured dot. Dialect differences are not marked on this map.

Alberta is the only province to officially recognise Métis territory as reserve land, the lands marked on this map. Other Métis communities throughout the country are not so designated, and are not yet marked on these maps.
Nakoda here refers to the Stoney language. Cree is the Plains Cree dialect, and Ojibway is the Saulteaux dialect.